Screen Shot 2018-06-18 at 12.12.07 PM.png

ROBERT RANKIN (b. 1994)  is a composer who grew up in North Carolina and now lives in Bloomington, IN. Hailed as “one of the nation's brightest and most talented emerging composers” (Fort Wayne Philharmonic), Robert’s works are characterized by colorful orchestration and a deep love of narrative storytelling through music. 

Robert has been commissioned and performed by various ensembles, music festivals, and solo artists including the Fort Wayne Philharmonic, the Lux Quartet, Split The Lark, pianist Kevin Madison, and numerous high school and college wind ensembles across the country. He has received awards and honors from organizations including Tribeca New Music the Greater Bridgeport Symphony Orchestra, and the American Composers Orchestra. In addition, he has worked with dance and theatre companies most recently scoring incidental music for productions Sarah Ruhl’s In The Next Room and Sophie Treadwell’s Machinal as part of the 17 Days Festival. Robert has attended the Atlantic Music Festival (2014) and the Brevard Music Center (2016, 17) where he worked with Robert Aldridge and David Dzubay both as composer and teaching assistant.

Upcoming world premieres and notable performances include the world premiere of Pickett's Charge by Jason Nam and the Indiana University Concert Band, a performance of Abu Ghraib at the National Student SCI Conference, and the premiere of a new work commissioned by the Garner High School Wind Ensemble and a consortium of North Carolina wind ensembles. 

Robert holds a degree in Music Education from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and is currently pursuing a Masters Degree in Composition from Indiana University’s Jacobs School of Music studying with Don Freund and Claude Baker.

Works are self-published by R. H. Rankin Music (BMI).
Selected wind ensemble works published by
Murphy Music Press




download a .pdf works list

Screen Shot 2018-06-18 at 12.12.07 PM.png


taken by Max Coleman (May 2019)




click here for more information